Log in

NFPA webinar - Legal Ethics and Social Media

  • 26 Feb 2013
  • 2:00 PM
  • Online

NFPA is proud to announce its first Webinar on February 26, 2013 - Legal Ethics and Social Media - commencing at 2 p.m. Eastern (1 p.m. Central, Noon Mountain, 11 a.m. Pacific).  The presenter is Matt Cornick, member of the faculty at Clayton State University in Morrow, GA, who has been teaching Civil Litigation, Legal Research, Family Law and Introduction to Law and Ethics for more than twenty-five years to paralegals and law students.   For many years, Mr. Cornick maintained an active law practice with an emphasis on tort litigation, bankruptcy, and family law.  He has served on the Approval Commission to the American Bar Association’s Standing Committee on Paralegals, and is the author of A Practical Guide to Family Law, West Publishing, 1995 and Using Computers in the Law Office, 6thed., Delmar Cengage Learning, 2011.

The webinar will focus on:  Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest,  Smartphones, tablets and wi-fi.  Social media is everywhere and that includes the law office.  Who can you “friend” on Facebook?  What should your law office tell your clients about social media today?  What are the practical effects of social media for legal professional?  What are the ethical obligations of a legal professional in this digital age?  Join us as we discuss these and other issues.

Registration is $20 for NFPA members, $30 for non-members.  To register, please go tohttp://www.paralegals.org/default.asp?page=139  .  Seating is limited and you must register on or before February 21, 2013.  Your registration will be confirmed via email.  You will receive an email prior to the webinar on how to log into GoToWebinar.  Once you receive that email, you may want to check with your IT department to verify the system firewalls and other settings will allow you access to GoToWebinar: ask them to make any adjustments necessary for your computer.

All those attending the presentation will earn 1 hour of Continuing Legal Education in ethics and will receive a CLE certificate electronically shortly after completion of the webinar.

NFPA will be presenting webinars throughout the year.  If you cannot attend this offering, please consult the NFPA website for other webinars this spring.

© Western Mass Paralegal Association
Powered by Wild Apricot. Try our all-in-one platform for easy membership management